FP7 consists of four Specific Programmes:

  • Cooperation – concerns collaborative research in 10 priority areas. 
  • Ideas – European Research Council. 
  • People – Human Potential, Marie Curie Actions.
  • Capacities – research for the benefit of SMEs and specific activities of international cooperation.
  • A fifth specific programme under the Euratom Framework Programme concerns nuclear research. The non-nuclear research activities of the Joint Research Centre (JRC) are grouped under a specific programme.